Russia, Russia (1): Come with Me

Think of me. Think of Anja. Think of us walking along the Neva river, seeing beautiful view of the Gulf of Finland. All these while we are in Saint Petersburg–the city so pretty that they call it “Venice of the North”. There’re also Peterhof; the Winter Palace; Church of the Saviour on Spilled Blood; and Tikhvin Cemetery where, Tschaikovsky and Fyodor Dostoevsky, among others, are resting eternally.

We will board an overnight train back to Moscow. And in Moscow, think of the Red Square, the Kremlin, Gorky Park, Old Arbat Street, and pretty Walt Disney cathedrals such as Saint Basil. I have told you about those cute looking churches, now we will be there for real.

We will go see Russian bellet–Swan Lake, at the Bolshoi theatre. If you want to see something spectacular, I will go watch the Nikulin Circus with you. I won’t be afraid to walk on Moscow street at night after the bellet is finished if you are with me. You won’t be so cruel to leave me walking home alone, will you? : )

With Anja around, we will experience Moscow as insiders. Anja will introduce us to her Russian friends, Russian food, tell stuffs about Russia that even Lonely Planet or Wikipedia Travel don’t know about. We will spend our Russian nights over countless shots of vodka; having endless conversation about our lives, our hopes, our dreams, about the future of internet governance too if we want (!); and recollect our old days in Joao Pessoa, three of us, together.

I am trying to write you an “enticing email” to encourage you to come see Russia with me. But trying too hard usually results in failure. So all I want you to know is that: I want to see my friend and brother, and changing scenery from Latin America to Russian cities is not a bad idea after all. I hope you will say yes.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Marta Frant says:

    I’m wondering why they are called Walt Disney cathedrals?

    Like

    1. Pinda Pineda says:

      I think they look like candy, something of fairy tales 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Marta Frant says:

        Hm maybe 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

